(you)man.

I’ve been asking myself this question and it’s stuck with me ever since I had a conversation with friends.

Why have we detached ourselves from ourselves? The conversation was about technology and the effect it has on human conversation and interaction.

Looking around, I noticed that people don’t really talk to each other anymore. Yes we text but it has reached a point where texting has replaced, not completely, the joy of a moment with another person. I’ve seen this with myself too. From a younger age, I never really had proper face-to-face conversations with people, I was more comfortable on my phone, in my zone. Hiding away from these moments and as I grew older I started itching for humanly conversation. Being able to watch the facial expressions that people make when I spoke and vice versa.

Recently, getting mugged and my phone stolen, has forced me to actually try to speak to people. And it is hard considering the fact that I am socially awkward even though I am working my way out it.

It’s kind of scary to think the things that are suppose to make life better and easier are turning us into empty people. Technology has left us approval-hungry too. We’re seeking gratification and approval from strangers and that I find twisted y’know. In a way I’d say that technology has dumbed us down. We do/say things without thought.

I watch how people nasty each other up for a few good retweets and is it really worth it? There are these words that I once heard which say, “before you try to impress others think about how your impressions impress you.” Is it still really worth it?

I’m trying out an exercise nowadays which to speak more to people even if voice shakes. It will well be worth it in the end. When you’re around people – family, friends, etc, instead of picking your phone up and texting someone while you are with them, tre and spark a good conversation see how good it feels. It may not be much but it’s much better than missing out on a good moment.

You need to feel. Once in a while.

Leave a comment